-
"The accommodation was comfortable and provided for the essentials; no logs and kindling had been provided as promised however."
The shower did not work as the temperature could not regulate, therefore no hot water. We had to use the bath which did provide hot water if you ran the hot water tap very slowly.
Suggestion: the blinds in the bedrooms do not block the light very well, curtains would be welcomed in addition to the blinds. The cobwebs and dust at the head end of the bed was not good to see.
The gate is broken, which then banged onto the car. There is a pane of shattered glass on the grass, adjacent to the gate.
The location is super and Bamburgh is a lovely village. Despite the speed limit outside the cottage, many drivers ignored it, the speed the vehicles went was shocking, which was a shame.
Reviewed by Adrienne3.1★Mar 2025
-
"Fabulous location - the description does not do it justice at all."
Literally 5 minute walk from both the castle and the sea. Alnwick and Lindisfarne a comfortable 25 minute drive. Heating VERY efficient; we had to turn it as low as possible in October! Only minor niggle was the lack of a DVD player as advertised however, the TV (Netflix/BBC iPlayer etc) was fine.
Reviewed by Stuart4.1★Oct 2024
-
"We stayed in Armstrong cottage for a week, end of September to beginning of October and loved it."
The cottage was clean and comfortable, with plenty of space. Could just do with one extra, comfortable chair. The decor is good and gave us the holiday feeling. Close to a magnificent beach and Bamburgh with short drives to other places of interest. Loved our stay and hope to return.
Reviewed by Tina4.7★Sep 2024
-
"Little touches needed to us feel more welcome would be to provide more than one toilet roll, some bin liners, washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets."
Some light bulbs were out.
Stains on a couple of the towels.
Parking space at back extremely tight to get in and out of.
Lovely location and beds comfortable.
We did have a very nice stay.
Thank you.
Reviewed by Pauline3.8★Sep 2024
-
"The cottage on our arrival was ridiculously hot, there were radiators turned up to the highest setting in every room, which was odd because it wasn’t cold outside."
This made the cottage far too hot for about 24 hours and ruined our first nights sleep. The doors to the cottage don’t close easily. I couldn’t close the front or back door, both required my husband to do it with force. The wood in the doors has warped due to the damp and age of the cottage. There were small brown moths in every room, mainly around the windows, but also on the walls. We had to dispose of 50+ moths throughout our stay, it was horrible. Every morning we’d wake up to more moths in every room. There was also a lot of spiders, but this wasn’t as much of a problem as the moths, because they don’t fly about your head. The beds and pillows were uncomfortable and made sleeping difficult. But what really spoiled a good nights sleep was that there were no curtains to draw across the windows to keep the rooms dark. The light was streaming through some very old blinds. One of the blinds in the main bedroom had a broken pelmet when we arrived, the bits of which were on the tall drawer unit in the corner. We didn’t spend a great deal of time in the cottage because of the issues mentioned above, but if we had wanted to, the one sofa, angled oddly away from the tv wouldn’t have made things easy for my family to gather around anyway. We feel really mislead by the photos on the website and the description of the cottage. With the Smeg fridge freezer and the smart kitchen worktop and units, you expect a little bit of comfort and luxury and what you get isn’t like that at all. The floors were dirty, so we had to walk around in crocs all the time. Some of the other cottages around ours had very obviously had money and time spent on them to make them far more acquit accommodation. We looked online when we got home and found that for the same cost as your cottage we could have stayed in far nicer places and so we feel really let down. We actually came back a day early on Friday because our daughter was so upset at night, not wanting to sleep in a room full of moths and spiders. It’s the first family holiday we’ve been able to afford in two years and the only holiday we’ll have this year so the disappointment is huge. We now need a holiday to recover from the holiday, for all the wrong reasons. Really we feel we should get some compensation, but in this day and age we won’t hold our breath.
Thank you for your feedback - we are sorry that your stay wasn’t enjoyable. We wish you had raised all of these concerns at the time instead of asking us for compensation after you’d left and then posting a negative review when you were refused. As you can see this is the first bad review we have received in more than ten years.
I have addressed a few points below:
Heating - sorry you were uncomfortable with the temperature. The summer has been very unpredictable. In this instance the key thing is to just adjust the heating to your liking. The thermostat is clearly marked.
Pillows - It’s very difficult choosing the right pillow for everyone so we have a selection of both feather and synthetic (firm and soft) to choose from in the wardrobe. I would suggest you simply chose one you preferred.
Doors - The doors can unfortunately swell when they are wet. We have had someone out to resolve the issue following some heavy rain.
Blind - this was broken during your stay and has now been fixed.
Moths - we have been staying at the property since your departure and have certainly not had the same experience as you. Moths are normal for this time of year though so we will keep an eye on it.
Cleaning - This is the first poor feedback we have had regarding cleaning and have addressed this with our cleaner and we expect that this issue doesn’t arise again.
All of these issues could have been very easily resolved by our management team who are on call 24-hours a day and would have been happy to help.
Property Owner
Reviewed by Stephen1.9★May 2024
-
"Only as maintenance, not a complaint at all."
The front fence to the left of the front door needs to be repaired before it comes down. The rubber strip bottom of shower door is about to come away. The overall stay was excellent and we really enjoyed the place which was comfortable, well furnished and in a great location.
Richard thanks for your feedback, I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will take a look at the fence & shower asap. Best wishes.
Property Owner
Reviewed by Richard5.0★Oct 2023
-
"A lovely cottage to enjoy your holiday from."
The style suited my taste as it is quite minimal and very nicely presented. The location is perfect and we enjoyed our walks over the dunes to the beach with the fabulous view of Bamburgh castle with us at all times. We felt very relaxed and comfortable and the location is perfect!
Reviewed by Angela5.0★Sep 2023
-
"The cottages are in a great position and with historical significance to the area."
The garden is large and private. Ideal for a family with young children due to space and play equipment. The cottage itself was clean and the beds were comfortable. It could be improved with more attention to decor and facilities such as another comfortable chair in the sitting area, a couple of small coffee tables and also bed side tables or cabinets in main bedroom. Also exterior doors very still and hard to open. Not ideal for elderly people due to these doors and use of shower. Blinds in bedrooms could also be adjusted for better outside light elimination.
Reviewed by Gillian2.8★May 2023
-
"Lovely cottage with everything you could need."
A bigger sofa or additional small sofa would have made the living room a bit comfier for a family of 4.
Reviewed by Julie4.7★Apr 2023
-
"The property was just fantastic, we enjoyed staying there so much ."
It was clean and homely. We loved the decor which was ideal for our taste. Looking to book again next year
Sep 2020
-
"A lovely cottage in a lovely location."
Spacious with a very pleasant secluded garden. We would recommend it.
Jun 2019
-
"Lovely house with very comfortable beds."
Ideal location with great outdoor space and fine views to estuary. Would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation!
Jun 2019
-
"All our requirements catered for more than adequately."
Clean, tidy, well equipped. Comfy beds. A lovely stay.
Feb 2019
-
"A very well appointed cottage in a lovely location."
Very comfortable and warm. We needed central heating which was easy to use and very efficient.
Sep 2018
-
"We found it nice and warm and well equipped."
Aug 2018
-
"Stylish cottage close to the beach and walking distance into Bamburgh."
A home from home with cosy comforts like a wood burning stove. Huge garden with swing and parking for a family hatchback sized car.
Aug 2018
-
"Felt like a home from home."
Comfortable with a well equipped kitchen. Wonderful location, amazing views. Fantastic enclosed garden for kids to tire themselves out in! We had a brilliant holiday and hope to return soon.
Jun 2018
-
There are no reviews featuring this term
Show all reviews